KEYC - Mankato News, Weather, Sports - - Town Hall Meeting To Address Access For Minnesota Voters With Di

Town Hall Meeting To Address Access For Minnesota Voters With Disabilities

Posted: Updated:
St. Paul, MN -

Sec. of State Ritchie to discuss changes to voting laws at Town Hall Meeting


*Registration deadline is Friday, March 15, 2013 at 5 p.m.*

As the Minnesota Legislature considers changes to voting laws (see HF894), we need more public input. This is your chance to talk about voting experiences and get the voting choices that work for you. So we've invited Minnesota Secretary of State Mark Ritchie and other in-the-know guest speakers to share what options are available to make sure people with disabilities have access to the polls when election season rolls around.

Be part of the conversation and join us for the MSCOD Town Hall on Voting Rights on Monday, March 18, 2013 from 1:30-4:00 p.m. Other guest speakers include Jeff Narabrook from Minnesota Council for Non-Profits and Jim Dickson of the American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD). You can participate: · in person · via webstream · via various videoconferencing sites across Minnesota. The host location for the event is the MN Department of Human Services at 444 Lafayette Road, Room 5137 in St. Paul.


Registration deadline is Friday, March 15, 2013 at 5 p.m.

 To attend, please go online

or contact the Minnesota State Council on Disability. Reasonable accommodation requests should be made during registration. When registering, please tell us the number of people who will be attending and provide your mailing address if you would like handouts mailed to you in advance. Web stream will be available in Real Player and Windows Media with a Closed Captioned option. Web streaming attendees will also have the opportunity to email questions to during the event.

Locations include:

LeCenter: LeSueur County Human Services, 88 South Park Ave, LeCenter, MN 56057

Mankato: Blue Earth County Human Services, 410 So. 5th Street, 3rd Floor, River Room, Mankato, MN 56001

Marshall: Lyon County SW Health and Human Services Courthhouse, 1st Floor, 607 W Main Street, Marshall, MN 56258

Olivia: Renville County, 410 E. DePue, Room 121b, Olivia, MN 56277

St. Peter: Nicollet County, 501 S. Minnesota Ave., St. Peter , MN 56082