The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources southern region has a new director.

Scott Roemhildt is filling the office after Dennis Frederickson retired on February 6.

Roemhildt is a native of Waseca County and joined the D-N-R in 2011.  He was most recently as coordinator of the DNR’s Walk-In Access program.

The DNR’s southern region is Headquartered in New Ulm and comprises of 32 counties across the southern part of the state.